Blog Assignment #1: Biography & Background> Here Goes Nothing

Hello and welcome friends and HY 3503 classmates to my blog!  My name is Danika Powell and I am a Secondary Education History major with the dreams of one day teaching my very own United States history course to bright eyed and obnoxious teenagers.  Somebody has to do it, right?  Anyway, I was born in the fantastic city of Hayward, California but unlike most of you I was raised in the Deep South.  A small town called Ozark, Alabama to be exact.  So although my mother was born and raised in the Bay Area and I, myself was born here; I know next to nothing about its history and I am anxious to learn anything and everything I can about this remarkable place I come from.

As you might imagine, deciding on a topic for this blog was not the easiest thing to do considering that I did not take California history in grade school, but eventually I decided on a very interesting topic that I think will excite as well as enlighten many of you.  I have chosen one of the world’s most famous landmarks for my topic and a place that every Bay Area resident holds close to their heart, the Golden Gate Bridge.  A lot of crazy and wonderful things happen on this bridge.  People get proposed to and get married here, protesters have been known to walk up and down with signs protesting the latest thing, joggers take their daily run here, people come to relax and see the amazing view, the maintenance on this bridge is extremely extensive, and millions of tourists travel for miles just to get a look of this stupendous site.  The point is that there are a lot of interesting things not only about the Golden Gate Bridge, but also things that relate to the bridge as well.

But I have decided to take a different spin on it then most would.  I am going to talk about the jumpers and how the Golden Gate Bridge is the number one suicide spot in the United States.  A little morbid I know, but like I said earlier somebody has to do it so it might as well be me.  However, let me make it known now that I do not have a depression problem and I am not planning on jumping off the Golden Gate Bridge; this blog is strictly for history research purposes.  Now even though this is something people do not openly talk about it is still widely known that the Golden Gate Bridge has attracted a lot of suicidal attention.  I like to think of it as the Bay Area’s dirty little secret, except for the fact that it is not much of a secret and more like something hush-hush.  It is important to know about these specifically terrible topics as well as the happy topics because it is a part of history and all history is worth knowing.  ““Let’s only talk about the good times” is a plea to ignore a significant portion of past reality that runs counter to the obligations and desires of responsible historians.”[1]

There is so much that history has to offer us, but we have to have an open mind to take it all in.  I cannot wait to explore this subject further and then share all of my discoveries with you all.  This is going to be one assignment that I look forward to doing each week!

[589]

Bibliography

James, Vincent. “Golden Gate Bridge.” Photo. Allposters.com 16 Apr. 2013. <www.allposters.com>.

Kyvig, David E., and Myron A. Marty. Nearby History: Exploring the Past Around You. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2010.

End Notes


[1] David E. Kyvig, and Myron A. Marty, Nearby History: Exploring the Past Around You

4 thoughts on “Blog Assignment #1: Biography & Background> Here Goes Nothing

  1. What an excellent choice of topic! It should prove most interesting. Going to school in California certainly makes you look at things you otherwise wouldn’t have.

  2. This should be very interesting. The Golden Gate Bridge is truly on of the most recognized American landmarks and yet to think that this majestic icon is associated with so much tragedy is heartbreaking. We will be watching as the story unfolds.

  3. thank you for quoting my blog:
    Lynch, R.J. “The Bridge: Suicide and the Golden Gate Bridge.” Radiant Writing Blog. Entry posted March 25, 2013. http://radiantwriting.hubpages.com/hub/The-Bridge-Suicide-on-the-Golden-Gate-Bridge (accessed 13 May 2013).

    You will want to remove it, as I was forced to delete it due to censorship and the topic of Suicide, having to do with Ads. It had been online for 4 years and read nearly 72,000 before this happened. I had befriended three mothers that had lost their children to this horrible fate.

    I wish you well in reaching those that are considering this – pick up the torch and reach many.
    Great Blog!!!

Leave a Reply

